Translate News

Google now lets you delete last 15 minutes of your search history

Photo Credit: Google


At Google's I/O event, the company announced some more privacy features.

The company has introduced a new feature called “Delete last 15 min,” . Google says this is one of the most demanded features by users and has been launched as part of the company’s privacy feature.

How to delete the last 15 minutes of search history:

Step 1: You just need to open the Google app and tap on your profile picture to access the settings menu.

Step 2: After tapping on it, click on “Delete last 15 minutes” and you are done. Google will delete the last 15 minutes of your search history.

Note that the new feature covers a select time period to batch-delete search terms.

Elsewhere, Google Photos will have a password-protected Locked Folder. It'll let you keep some photos hidden away when you want to show a friend a picture or let them scroll through an album on your phone. Images in the Locked Folder won't pop up on the grid or in your shared albums. The feature will debut on Google Pixel phones before rolling out to more Android devices later this year.

In Maps, when you view places you've visited in your Timeline, you'll see a reminder that you have the location history option switched on. You'll be able to turn it off directly from Timeline.

Android 12 will have a privacy dashboard that includes a timeline showing when apps used your microphone, camera or location info. Indicators show when your mic or camera are being used. You'll be able to to disable access to those with simple toggle options. Additionally, you'll be able to share approximate locations with apps rather than your exact position.

Photo Credit: Google

Google also announced an update for Chrome's built-in password manager. When the company suspects that one of your passwords has been compromised, Google Assistant will help you change it.