WhatsApp for iOS Getting 'View Once' Feature for Photos and Videos
WhatsApp for iPhone version 2.21.150 has begun rolling out the much-anticipated "view once" ephemeral messaging feature. Once you get the feature, you will be able to enable the disappearing of the photo or video before sending them to your contacts by tapping the new ‘1' icon that appears next to the caption bar.
Photos and videos that are being shared using the 'view once' feature will no longer be visible in the chat where they were sent once the recipient exits the media viewer. The media content will also not be saved to the recipient's Photos or Gallery, and they can't forward them through the app. However, recipients can still take a screenshot of the 'view once' photos or capture these videos by using the default screen recording feature.
Alongside the ‘view once' feature, the updated WhatsApp for iPhone brings the new style of in-app message notifications that removes the clutter and brings more focus to the message content.
The new features will be rolled out over the next few weeks, according to WhatsApp's release notes.