You can now set a time limit for recalling emails in Gmail's Undo Send feature

The Undo Send feature in Gmail has been updated for both Web and iOS users. Users will now be able to recall emails over a variety of time frames thanks to a new feature. After tapping the send button for 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 20 seconds, or 30 seconds, users can 'unsend' an email before it reaches the recipient. Previously, Google's mail service provided a standard five-second window for retrieving a message that had been sent incorrectly. Gmail for Web and the Gmail mobile app both have the Undo Send message functionality. The Undo Send feature had been in Gmail Labs for a long time before being released to the public in 2015.

Through a Facebook post, Google announced the new update to Gmail's Undo Send feature. According to the company, the Undo Send feature on Gmail is rewriting the 5-second rule by allowing users to 'unsend' any email within 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.

How to recall emails on Gmail with Undo Send

You can follow these steps to change the time allowed to undo send an email on Gmail for Web:
  1. Once you're logged in, click on the Settings icon on the top-right corner of the page and tap on See all settings.
  2. Next click on Undo Send, select a Send cancellation period. The options are 5, 10, 20, and 30 seconds.
  3. Scroll down and click Save.

On iOS, users can adjust the amount of time they have to cancel a message by going to Settings and tapping the Undo Send button next to it. According to Google's Support Page, the ability to set a cancellation period for Gmail for Android is currently unavailable.

Gmail recently received a slew of new features from Google. You can now make 1:1 audio and video calls using Google Chat in Gmail. Gmail for Web also received a new right-click menu for viewing a recipient's full name and details, avatar chips for recipients, and new checks when adding users outside of their contacts and organizations.

Translate